Executive Committee
Thur Dec 7 2017 , 13:28:16

नवोदय विद्यालय समिति

Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti

( An Autonomous Body Under Ministry of Education ) Government Of India

Executive Committee

Navodaya Vidyalayas are run by the Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS), an autonomous organisation under the Ministry of Education, Department of School Education & Literacy, Govt. of India. The Chairman of the Samiti is the Hon’ble Minister of Education. 

The Samiti functions through an Executive Committee under the Chairmanship of Hon’ble Minister of Education. The Executive Committee is responsible for the management of all affairs including allocation of funds to the Samiti and has the authority to exercise all powers of the Samiti. It is assisted by two Sub-Committees, i.e. Finance Committee and Academic Advisory Committee, in its functions. 

The executive head of the administrative pyramid is the Commissioner who executes the policies laid down by the Samiti’s Executive Committee

Member of the Executive Committee of NVS
1 Minister in the Ministry of Education Chairman
2 Vice-Chairman of the Society Vice-Chairman
3 Secretary (SE&L) Ministry of Education Member
4 Representative of the Ministry of Education, Deptt. of School Education & Literacy Member
5 Representative of the Ministry of Finance in the Society Member
6 Commissioner Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti Member
7 Director, NCERT Member
8 Vice-Chancellor, NUEPA Member
9 Chairman, CBSE Member
10 Commissioner, KVS Member
11 Educationists who is the members of the Society-Vacant Member
12 Dr. Alka Rao, Senior Scientist CSIR- Institute of Microbial Technology Chandigarh  Member
13 Joint Commissioner  (Acad.) Member
14 Joint Commissioner (Admn.) & Ex-officio Secretary of the Society. Member


Member of NVS Academic Advisory Committee
1 Commissioner Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti

(2-5 Four persons to be nominated by the Chairman of the Society from amongst outstanding educationists)

Dr. Abu Saleh Shariff, Professor

National Council of Applied Research (NCAER)
& Member Secretary of Justice Sachar Committee.
Parisila Bhawan, 11 Indraprasth Estate, New Delhi-110002.


Sh. M.P. Vijay Kumar, IAS (Rtd.)

Kuttye and Street, Maleyudi Pattinam
Post Pallachi Taluk Distt. Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu-642114.


Dr. Poonam Sharma, Associate Professor

Janki Devi Mahavidyalaya F-74, Hauzkhas Enclave, New Delhi-110016.


Sh. Mahipal Budhiraja, Principal

Mother Divine Sr. School Sector-3, Rohni, Delhi


Director, NCERT

Sri Aurobindo Marg,New Delhi-110016


Prof. N.V. Varghese

Vice Chancellor, NUEPA Sri Aurobindo Marg, New Delhi-110016

8 Commissioner/Joint Commissioner (Acad.)
Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan 18,
Institutional Area Shaheed Jeet Singh Marg, New Delhi - 110016

Ms. Anita Karwal, IAS

Chairperson, Central Board of Secondary Education(CBSE) Shiksha Kendra, Preet Vihar, Delhi-110092


Joint Comissioner (Acad.) Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti




Member of NVS Finance Committee
1 Financial Advisor, Ministry of Education Chairman
2 Joint Secretary (SE) Ministry of Education Member
3 Chairman, CBSE Member
4 Commissioner, KVS Member
5 Commissioner, NVS Member
6 IFA & CAO, NVS Member Secretary